The Ten Stages of the Abuse Recovery Process

  1. Self-Exploration and Self-Discovery
    You will explore your past and present to discover the truth about you.
  2. Relationship history / inventory
    You'll examine and perhaps reset your personal boundaries.
  3. Addiction control
    You'll get a handle on your addictions and compulsions and take the first steps toward mastering them.
  4. Leaving home and saying good-bye
    You'll say the goodbyes appropriate to healing. You may think you did that years ago. Probably you didn't.
  5. Grieving your loss
    Grieving is both the bottom of the curve, the very pits of your emotions and feelings, and also the start upward. It's almost like your dentist hanging up his drill. You know he's not done yet, but the worst is over.
  6. New self-perceptions
    You will gain fresh perceptions about yourself and make new decisions. What an eye-opener this stage is!
  7. New experiences
    You will build a foundation of new experiences to bolster the decisions you've just made.
  8. Reparenting
    You will rebuild your past in a sense, and also the present and future, as you become involved in what we call reparenting.
  9. Relationship accountability
    You will establish accountability for your new and refreshed personal relationships.
  10. Maintenance
    You will embark on a maintenance program that will keep you on track for the remainder of your life.

APA Reference
Staff, H. (2009, March 21). The Ten Stages of the Abuse Recovery Process, HealthyPlace. Retrieved on 2024, June 20 from

Last Updated: October 3, 2022

Medically reviewed by Harry Croft, MD

More Info